Betsey Johnson Visits the 92Y!

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 11.28.52 PM

Being a fashion student, I was thrilled to see that Betsey Johnson was coming to speak at the 92Y. I got tickets, which through the Y are actually discounted and totally affordable. All I had to do was go down the elevator to the first floor and boom, I was sitting in the audience waiting to see Betsey Johnson, one of the largest fashion designers in history. The set-up of the talk was as an interview between Fern Malis and Betsey. It was such a light hearted back and forth conversation. They discussed her life and how she got to where she is today. Betsey Johnson, being 70, has the energy and spunk of a 5 year old. I was shocked to see, in person, just how much kick she really does have left in her. Her dedication to fashion and commitment to her personal style is very inspiring to me. This, and her drive to work hard, were the two major lessons I took away from the interview. 

Next month, I’m going to see Vera Wang!

Leave a Reply

