Amy Kauffman

My name is Amy Kauffman and I am a junior from Marietta College in Marietta, Ohio. I am studying through the Marist in Manhattan program to get some work experience in my career field. I am majoring in Broadcasting and Photojournalism and I am currently a Production/Producing intern with Live! with Kelly and Michael and The Dr. Oz Show.
My first week was crazy but exciting! At Live!, I had a chance to pull news stories, log comments from the show, greet the special guests and interact with the audience. I also had the opportunity to be in the studio when ABC found out about the ferry crash. Our camera crews were on the scene less than ten minutes after it happened. I am so happy that I had a chance to watch how quickly everything was prepared and put over the air. At The Dr. Oz Show, I had the opportunity to help one of the producers prepare a segment for next week by making phone calls, doing research and statistics and helping to write the script. I love that every day is a different experience and I am so happy to have this opportunity!
I was really nervous at first to come into the program with not knowing anyone or my way around the city, but I absolutely love it and I am so happy to have this opportunity through Marist. Sometimes you have to step outside your comfort zone and experience something new in order to figure out who you are and where you are meant to be.

Leave a comment